MCWA Celebrates 45th Anniversary

The McHenry County Wireless Association celebrated its forty-fifth anniversary at the club’s monthly meeting on September 5, 2023.  Around fifty members and supporters were in attendance for the event, including those attending from around the country via Zoom.

After posing for a group photo and enjoying two delicious cakes, the meeting resumed, electing the new officers for 2023-2024: 

      • Dan Larson (KD9M), President
      • Wendell Smith (N9REP), Vice President
      • Andrew White (K9AJW), Secretary
      • Bob Temes (KD9IDD), Treasurer
      • Glenn Otto (K9OK), Director

The newly elected officers will be seated at the October meeting on October 3rd.

Dan Larson (KD9M), who took this group photo managed to vault into the air and stick his landing before the self-timer on his camera snapped the photo. Dan can be seen in the front row, third from the left.

The club was formed on September 12, 1978 and consisted of thirty-one charter members. Three of the original charter members continue to be active in the club: John Dewey (KA9CAR), Doug Mather (KD9PK), and Art Reis (K9XI). A fourth founding member, Jerry Heien (N9AVY) passed away in October 2022.

Today, MCWA is an ARRL affiliated club with a membership of nearly one hundred forty members. The club meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 7 PM at Algonquin Township in Crystal Lake. All are welcome to attend.